2013 Mount Rushmore Quarter

The 2013 Mount Rushmore National Memorial Quarter is offered by the United States Mint as the last of five 2013-dated releases of the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program.

2013 Mount Rushmore America the Beautiful Quarter

2013 Mount Rushmore America the Beautiful Quarter

The Mount Rushmore Quarters will enter into general circulation through the Federal Reserve Bank system on November 4, 2013. At approximately the same time, bags and rolls of circulation quality Mount Rushmore Quarters will also become available for ordering directly from the United States Mint.

Showcased on the reverse of each new quarter is a design emblematic of Mount Rushmore National Memorial located in the state of South Dakota. The memorial contains sculptures of the faces of four former Presidents of the United States including George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.

Construction on the sculpture began in 1927 under the direction of Gutzon Borglum. Work continued until 1941 when a lack of funds and the death of Borglum a few months earlier caused the construction to end as it appears today. Originally, the concept called for the sculpture to include not only the heads of the Presidents but their bodies down to their waists.

Today, around three million visitors appear annually at the memorial.

The Mount Rushmore Quarter is issued by the US Mint as the twentieth strike of the America the Beautiful Quarters series. This series will include a total of fifty-six new releases when completed in 2021. The program debuted in 2010 and features five new releases annually.

Mount Rushmore Quarter Design

The obverse of all America the Beautiful Quarters contains a portrait of George Washington, the first President of the United States. This is the same portrait which has appeared on circulating quarter dollars since 1932, with minor variations, and was originally designed by artist John Flanagan. Obverse inscriptions include UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, QUARTER DOLLAR, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and the mintmark.

Found on the reverse of the Mount Rushmore Quarter is the design emblematic of the memorial. It depicts a view of the memorial as it was being constructed with workmen completing the final touches of the Jefferson sculpture.   Inscriptions include MOUNT RUSHMORE, SOUTH DAKOTA, 2013, and E PLURIBUS UNUM.  The reverse was designed and executed by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Joseph Menna.


Mount Rushmore Quarter Specifications

Mintmark: P, D, S
Composition: 91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel
Weight: 5.670 g
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Date of Issue: November 4, 2013
Mintages: Based on Demand
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: John Flanagan
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Joseph Menna

Mount Rushmore Quarter Resources