2012 Presidential Dollars

The 2012 Presidential Dollar series will be in its sixth year with the release of these $1 coins. The series is struck by the US Mint with obverses containing portraits of the former Presidents of the United States.

2012 Presidential $1 Coins (US Mint images)

2012 Presidential $1 Coins

The Presidential Dollar series was authorized by Congress under the Presidential $1 Coin Act (Public Law 109-145) signed by former President Bush on December 22, 2005. Under the act, the coins are required to be of the same specifications as the Native America Dollars.

When originally authorized, the coins were to be struck for circulation. However, in late 2011, the Secretary of the Treasury opted to discontinue the circulation requirement and instead the strikes will be issued only for collectors.

Currently, the coins are composed of 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese and 2% nickel. The strikes have a diameter of 26.5 mm and a weight of 8.1 grams.

Additional requirements of the authorizing Act stipulate that edge-inscriptions be used. This includes the year of minting and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

The Presidential $1 Coins are issued at a rate of four per year in the order in which the individuals served in office. As such, George Washington, the first President of the United States was the inaugural strike of the series.

Congress also allowed for instances where a President served in non-consecutive terms. The only occurrence of this happening was Grover Cleveland. He served as both the 22nd and the 24th President of the United States and will be honored on separate coins for each term. Both of these coins are part of the 2012 releases of the series.


Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

Shown on the reverse of each coin is a design showcasing the Statue of Liberty. Don Everhart created the design which also includes the inscriptions of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and the denomination of $1.

The obverse will contain the portrait of the President being honored. It will also include inscriptions indicating their name, their order of service, the years served and IN GOD WE TRUST.

Following the same release schedule as these Presidential $1 Coins, the US Mint will also be issuing First Spouse Gold Coins. As indicated by the name of the second series, they honor the spouses of the former Presidents of the United States but are struck from 1/2 ounce of 24-karat gold.

2012 Presidential Dollars will include coins honoring Chester Arthur, the first term of Grover Cleveland, Benjamin Harrison and the second term of Grover Cleveland. Information on each of these coins and the Presidents they represent follow.

2012 Chester Arthur Presidential $1 Coin (US Mint image)

Chester Arthur Presidential Dollar - Chester Arthur served as the 21st President of the United States from September 19, 1881 – March 4, 1885. He assumed the office after the assassination of the 20th US President, James Garfield.

Arthur is known for being instrumental in the revitalization of the United States Navy as well as his work in Civil Service reforms. He only served the one partial term and failed to achieve the nomination for a second term by his party.

2012 Grover Cleveland (First Term) Presidential $1 Coin (US Mint image)

Grover Cleveland (First Term) Presidential Dollar - Grover Cleveland served his first term as President of the United States from March 4, 1885 – March 4, 1889. This term marked the twenty-second individual to serve in the nation's highest office.

Cleveland, aside from being the only President elected to two non-consecutive terms, also has the distinction of being the only Democrat to serve in office during a period of Republican domination following the American Civil War. Cleveland was well regarded for his fight against political corruption throughout the nation.

2012 Benjamin Harrison Presidential $1 Coin (US Mint image)

Benjamin Harrison Presidential Dollar - The twenty-third US President was Benjamin Harrison who served from March 4, 1889 – March 4, 1893. He defeated incumbent President Grover Cleveland to attain the office, only to lose to him four years later while trying to be re-elected.

Harrison's term is best remembered for economic policies and legislation including the McKinley Tariff and the Sherman Antitrust Act. His term is also remembered as the first time federal spending reached over 1 billion dollars.

2012 Grover Cleveland (Second Term) Presidential $1 Coin (US Mint image)

Grover Cleveland (Second Term) Presidential Dollar - An anomaly for US Presidents, Grover Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms in office. This coin acknowledges the second term which ran from March 4, 1893 – March 4, 1897.

Unfortunately for Cleveland, his second term was marked and remembered for the depressions and strikes that riddled the nation at the time. Cleveland lost the support of his party and was not elected to another term.

Prior to the release of the 2012 dated strikes, the US Mint issued twenty other coins in the series. Those honored by the coins include George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and Zachary Taylor, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Johnson, Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes and James Garfield.

Multiple products are offered by the US Mint which include the Presidential Dollars.

Presidential Dollar Coin Specifications

Mintmark: D, P, S
Finish/Condition: Circulated, Proof
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Weight: 8.1 grams
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Edge: lettering
Date of Issue: 2007-2016
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: Provided Above
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Don Everhart

2012 Presidential $1 Resources