2011 Presidential Dollars

The 2011 Presidential Dollar series of coins will be the fifth year in which the US Mint issued coins in a program dedicated to honoring the former Presidents of the United States.

Each of the coins in the program are identical in size, weight and metal content to that of the Native American Dollars. This requirement is just one of the stipulations placed on the coins under the Presidential $1 Coin Act , which was signed into law (Public Law 109-145) by former President Bush on December 22, 2005.

The law also dictates that no more than four former Presidents be honored annually. At that rate, the program will continue until at least 2016 by which time all of the known deceased former Presidents will have been honored by a coin. Current law demands that no individual who is currently alive be featured on a coin of the United States.

Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

The reverse (tails side) of each Presidential Coin contains an image of the Statue of Liberty. Design work for this side was completed by Don Everhart and also includes the inscriptions of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and the denomination of $1.

On the obverse, a portrait of the honored President will be shown along with inscriptions showing their name, their order of service, the years in which they served and IN GOD WE TRUST. Edge inscriptions show the coins date, the mintmark and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

Also released by the US Mint in association with the Presidential Coins is the First Spouse Series. These coins are struck from 1/2 ounce of 24-karat gold to either proof or uncirculated condition and honor the spouses of the former Presidents the United States. The Spouse Series are issued on a schedule tied to the President with which they are associated.

2011 Presidential Dollars will include coins honoring Andrew Johnson, Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes and James A. Garfield. Information on each of these coins and the Presidents they represent follow.

Andrew Johnson Presidential Dollar - Thrusted into office following the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Johnson became the 17th President of the United States. His term proved to be controversial as he strived to quickly re-integrate the former secessionist states back into the Union.

His positions on the reintegration led him to be the first President to undergo impeachment proceedings, although he was acquitted by a single vote in the United States Senate. However, still not favored by many, Johnson only served the one term as President.

Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Dollar - Ulysses S. Grant rose to great prominence as the military commander credited with the greatest responsibility for the Union victory over Confederate forces during the American Civil War. He remained in the military during much of the reconstruction phase after the war until elected to be the 18th President of the United States.

Grant was responsible for many Civil Rights advancements following the war, but unfortunately his Presidency was marred by economic downturns and political scandals. By the end of his second term, Grant's favor with the public was all but gone.

Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Dollar - The nineteenth President of the United States, Rutherford B. Hayes, ascended to the office on March 4, 1877. He gave his word before the election to only serve one term, and fulfilled that promise by retiring in 1881.

Hayes ended the Southern reconstruction after the American Civil War by ordering the withdrawal of troops from the South. This returned control of the states back to the people.

James A. Garfield Presidential Dollar - James A. Garfield was the twentieth President of the United States, but only served for six months. He assumed the office on March 4, 1881, but was shot on July 2. Surviving for another three months, Garfield nonetheless died from his injuries.

His death marked the second time in history that a President of the United States was assassinated. Owing to that early passing, Garfield was able to accomplish very little as President.

Previous coins of the Presidential Dollar Coin Series in the order in which they were issued are : George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and Zachary Taylor, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan and Abraham Lincoln.

The United States Mint offers multiple products containing the Presidential Dollars including rolls of the strikes and the US Mint annual sets. All may be obtained directly from the Mint.

Presidential Dollar Coin Specifications

Mintmark: D, P, S
Finish/Condition: Circulated, Proof
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Weight: 8.1 grams
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Edge: lettering
Date of Issue: 2007-2016
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: Provided Above
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Don Everhart

2011 Presidential $1 Resources