2011 Chickasaw Quarter

Appearing as the final of five United States Mint 2011 releases of the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program is the 2011 Chickasaw National Recreation Area Quarter.

Chickasaw National Recreation Area Quarter

2011 Chickasaw Quarter - Click Coin Image to Enlarge

The coin will be released into circulation through Federal Reserve Banks and sold in US Mint bags and rolls beginning on  November 14, 2011.

Chickasaw was originally established in Oklahoma as the Sulphur Springs Reservation on July 1, 1902 with 640 acres of land sold to the United States Government from the Chickasaw Indian Nation. It was redesignated and renamed in 1906 as the Platt National Park, only to be combined with the Arbuckle Recreation Area and renamed and redesignated to its current title of Chickasaw National Recreation Area in 1976.

The area consists of 9888.8 acres with almost 25% of that amount covered in water. That blend of land and water allows for unique recreational opportunities that over one million visitors take advantage of each year.

Chickasaw Quarter Design

The inscriptions 'United States of America,' 'Quarter Dollar,' 'Liberty,' 'In God We Trust' and the mint mark are joined on the obverse of the coin by a portrait of George Washington, the first President of the United States. John Flanagan completed that portrait of Washington for the circulating 1932 quarter dollar and the design has remained on the coin ever since.

The reverse design, by Donna Weaver, features the Lincoln Bridge which was built of limestone and dedicated in 1909 to celebrate the centennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth. Included inscriptions are 'Chickasaw,' 'Oklahoma,' 'E Pluribus Unum' and '2011.'

Chickasaw Quarter Specifications

Mintmark: P, D, S
Composition: 91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel
Weight: 5.670 g
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Date of Issue: November 14, 2011.
Mintages: Based on Demand
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: John Flanagan
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Donna Weaver / Jim Licaretz

Chickasaw Quarter Resources