2010 Yosemite Quarter

The 2010 Yosemite National Park Quarter was released on July 26, 2010 as the third issue in the new America the Beautiful Quarters Program from the US Mint.

2010 Yosemite National Park Quarter

2010 Yosemite National Park Quarter - Click to Enlarge

President of the United States Abraham Lincoln signed the Yosemite Grant in 1864 after having never seen the area himself. The Grant aimed to protect Yosemite from abuse but initially failed because it placed control of the area under the State of California's jurisdiction who lacked the resources to prevent mishandling.

Naturalist John Muir persuaded President Theodore Roosevelt to revert control of Yosemite to the federal government in 1906. In 1916, Yosemite was transferred to the newly created National Park Service.

Today the park receives over 3 million annual visitors, most of whom only visit a small portion known as Yosemite Valley. The park hosts many other sites to see including the Giant Sequoia Groves.

Yosemite Quarter Design

John Flanagan's image of George Washington is seen on the obverse. Also shown are the inscriptions 'United States of America,' 'Quarter Dollar,' 'Liberty,' 'In God We Trust' and the mintmark.

The reverse design shows the massive granite monolith known as El Capitan which is found within the park. Included as well are the inscriptions 'Yosemite,' 'California,' 'E Pluribus Unum,' and '2010.' It was designed by Joseph Menna and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill.

Yosemite Quarter Specifications

Mintmark: P, D, S
Composition: 91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel
Weight: 5.670 g
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Date of Issue: 2010
Mintages: Based on Demand
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: John Flanagan
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Joseph Menna / Phebe Hemphill

Yosemite Quarter Resources