2010 Presidential Dollars

The 2010 Presidential Dollar series of coins continues a program which was launched in 2007 to honor the former Presidents of the United States.

2010 Presidential Dollars (line-art images)

2010 Presidential Dollars (line-art images)

The coins are released at a rate of four per year in the order in which the President on them served. Plans call for the series to run until at least 2016 with all former Presidents honored as long as they have been deceased for at least two years before their coin can be issued.

Authorized under the Presidential $1 Coin Act (Public Law 109-145), the coins are identical in weight, size and metal content to the Native American Dollars.

Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

Presidential Dollar Reverse (Proof Version) - Click to Enlarge

Don Everhart designed the Statue of Liberty image that is seen on the reverse of each Presidential coin.

The United States Mint is also issuing a companion First Spouse Series to the Presidential coins in which the former First Ladies of the United States are honored in 1/2 ounce of 24-karat gold. The Spouse coins are available in either proof or uncirculated condition with their price directly tied to the market price of gold.

The 2010 Presidential $1 coins honor Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan and Abraham Lincoln. Information on each of these coins and the Presidents they represent follow.

2010 Millard Fillmore Presidential $1 Coin, Obverse

Millard Fillmore Presidential Dollar - Don Everhart designed and engraved the portrait of 13th President of the United States Millard Fillmore who obtained the office via succession after the death of President Zachary Taylor.

While in office, Congress passed the Compromise of 1850 temporarily stalling the escalation of tension over slavery. Fillmore himself was responsible for sending Commodore Matthew C. Perry on a naval expedition to Japan which resulted in the end of Japanese isolationism.

2010 Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin, Obverse

Franklin Pierce Presidential Dollar - Pierce, a Northerner with Southern sympathies, was elected mainly for that reason. Those in the North felt he was one of them, while those in the South was sure he would look out for their interests.

The portrait of Pierce shown on his coin was designed by Susan Gamble and engraved by Charles L. Vickers. Showing a young man, it nonetheless hints at the sorrow that must have been part of his tenure. A mere two months before his inauguration, his only surviving child was killed in a freak train wreck.

2010 James Buchanan Presidential $1 Coin, Obverse

James Buchanan Presidential Dollar - Phebe Hemphill designed and engraved the portrait of James Buchanan that is found on his coin. Elected near the height of the political tensions between the North and South, Buchanan would end his term in relative in-action.

Previous to his election as President, Buchanan served his country in many facets including defending Baltimore during the War of 1812 and multiple diplomatic posts.

2010 Abraham Lincoln Presidential $1 Coin, Obverse

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Dollar - With the secession of several states before his inauguration, President Abraham Lincoln had little joy to feel during his tenure. His position that the States could not withdraw from the Union pushed him to pursue war with the Confederates.

Upon finally achieving victory in the American Civil War, Lincoln was assassinated by a Southern sympathizer immortalizing him forever in American history.

Don Everhart (who also designed the reverse shown on all Presidential coins) designed and engraved the image of Lincoln shown on the obverse.

The 2010 Presidential coins are the fourth year in which coins honoring the former Chief Executives have been issued. Previous coins in the order in which they were issued are : George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and Zachary Taylor.

Multiple product options from the United States Mint are available that include these Presidential Coins. Some of them are bags and rolls of the circulating coins, collector proof and uncirculated sets, as well as sets that combine the Presidential Coins with the First Spouse Gold Coins issued in conjunction with them. All may be found on the US Mint Web site.

Presidential Dollar Coin Specifications

Mintmark: D, P, S
Finish/Condition: Circulated, Proof
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Weight: 8.1 grams
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Edge: lettering
Date of Issue: 2007-2016
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: Provided Above
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Don Everhart

2010 Presidential $1 Resources