2010 Mount Hood Silver Coin

The 2010 Mount Hood Silver Coin marks the final of five releases by the United States Mint in 2010 of the multi-year America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin® Program. It is also the first coin under the program to not feature a national park.

2010 Mount Hood Silver Coin

2010 Mount Hood Silver Coin - Bullion Version

Two silver coins are actually authorized. The US Mint released the bullion version through its network of resellers on December 10, 2010. The collector uncirculated coin will be sold directly to the public by the US Mint and is expected out in the first quarter of 2010. This coin has an uncirculated finish and also the Philadelphia "P" mintmark.

Coins in this series were authorized along with a series of circulating quarter dollars under the America's Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 (Public Law 110-456). Both programs are required by the law to have identical imagery to each-other on their obverse and reverses. Also, the reverse designs are to feature emblematic images of selected sites of national interest from around the United States. One site was chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the five US territories, for a total of fifty-six new coins to be issued under each program.

Whereas the previous four releases of the inaugural year of the program all honored national parks, this strike honors Mount Hood National Forest which is located in the state of Oregon. The area was first set aside for the public interest in 1892 as the Bull Run Forest Reserve. It merged with the Cascade National Forest in 1908 and became the Oregon National Forest. Finally, in 1924, it was renamed again to its current title.

The over one million acres of the forest receive an estimated four million plus visitors annually. Those who visit not only take in the awe-inspiring sites afforded there, but also the many recreational activities offered. Some of these include skiing, fishing, boating and hiking.

Mount Hood Silver Coin Design

George Washington, the first President of the United States, is featured on the obverse of all of the America the Beautiful Coins including these bullion pieces and the circulating quarter dollars. His image was designed by John Flanagan and initially featured on the 1932 circulating quarter dollar. It has remained on the obverse of the quarter ever since. Also shown on the obverse are the inscriptions of 'United States of America,' 'Quarter Dollar,' 'Liberty' and 'In God We Trust.'

U.S. Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill designed the image found on the reverse of the strike. It shows the massive Mount Hood with Lost Lake in the foreground. Also shown are the inscriptions of 'Mount Hood,' 'Oregon,' '2010' and 'E PLURIBUS UNUM.'

Mount Hood Silver Coin Specifications

Mintmark: no mintmark present for bullion, "P" mintmark on uncirculated
Composition: 99.9% silver
Weight: five ounces
Diameter: three inches
Date of Issue: 2010
Mintages: 33,000 for bullion; 27,000 for uncirculated
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: John Flanagan
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Phebe Hemphill

Mount Hood Silver Coin Resources