2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin

Marking the debut strike of the United States Mint's America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin® Program is the 2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin. This new series features large five ounce .999 fine silver coins struck with obverse and reverse designs identical to the circulating quarters.

2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin

2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin - Bullion Version

There are, or will be, two available versions of the coin. The investment-grade 2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin Bullion version and the collector 2010 Hot Springs Silver Coin Uncirculated version. The US Mint released the bullion version on December 10, 2010. The US Mint indicated the collector uncirculated coin would be available in the first quarter of 2011.

The major difference between the two other than their finishes is that the collector uncirculated version features the "P" mintmark. Additionally, the US Mint directly sells collector coins but its bullion products are sold through distributors known as "Authorized Purchasers."

Both this five ounce silver coin series and the quarter dollar series were authorized by the America's Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 (Public Law 110-456). The law dictates that five new coins will be struck annually under each series with reverse designs emblematic of selected sites of national interest from around the United States. One site was chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the five territories of the United States for a total of fifty-six new coins.

This specific coin honors Hot Springs National Park, located in the state of Arkansas. Hot Springs was the first site to be honored under the program because it has the distinction of being the first area of land set aside by the United States government for the express purpose of preserving it for future generations.

The park was originally established as the Hot Springs Reservation on April 20, 1832. It was redesignated a national park on March 4, 1921 and has the additional distinction of being the smallest national park by area in the national park system.

Hot Springs Silver Coin Design

Obverse designs on all of the America the Beautiful Coins contain a portrait of George Washington, the first President of the United States, as designed by John Flanagan. The portrait was originally used on the 1932 circulating quarter dollar. Along with the portrait, the inscriptions of 'United States of America,' 'Quarter Dollar,' 'Liberty' and 'In God We Trust' will also be shown on the obverse.

The reverse contains an image emblematic of Hot Springs National Park by showing the front facade of the Headquarters Building complete with a thermal fountain in front of it. The design is the work of Don Everhart with sculpting completed by Joseph Menna. Along with the image are the inscriptions of 'Hot Springs,' 'Arkansas,' '2010' and 'E PLURIBUS UNUM.'

Hot Springs Silver Coin Specifications

Mintmark: no mintmark present for bullion, "P" for uncirculated
Composition: 99.9% silver
Weight: five ounces
Diameter: three inches
Date of Issue: 2011
Mintages: 33,000 - bullion; 27,000 - uncirculated
Obverse Designer/Sculptor: John Flanagan
Reverse Designer/Sculptor: Don Everhart / Joseph Menna

Silver Coin Resources